Last Update : 10 Jul 2023


1.      “Act” means the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act, 2009 (Central Act No. 35 of 2009);
2.      “Anganwadi” means an Anganwadi Centre established under the Integrated Child Development Services Scheme of the Ministry of Women and Child Development of the Government of India;
3.      “Block Elementary Education Officer” means the officer in charge for elementary education in a Block;
4.      “child with disability” means a child covered under the definition of “person with disability” under clause (t) of section 2 of the Persons with Disabilities (Equal Opportunities, Protection of Rights and Full Participation) Act, 1995;
5.      “Commissioner/ Director Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan” means the Head of the Rajasthan Council of Elementary Education;
6.      “Director, Elementary Education” means the Head of the Department of Elementary Education;
7.      “District Elementary Education Officer” means the officer in-charge for elementary education in a district;
8.      “District” means a revenue district of the State;
9.      “Executive Committee” means a committee of the School Management Committee constituted for day-to-day management of a school;
10. “Primary School” means a school that imparts education from class I to class V;
11. “pupil cumulative record” means record of the progress of the child based on comprehensive and continuous evaluation;
12. “Rajasthan Non-Government Educational Institutions Tribunal” means a tribunal established by the State Government under the provisions of the Rajasthan Non- Government Educational Institutions Act, 1989;
13. “School Management Committee” means the committee constituted under section 21 of the Act;
14. “School mapping” means planning school location for the purpose of section 6 of the Act to overcome social barriers and geographical distance;
15. “Section” means section of the Act;
16. “State” means the State of Rajasthan;
17. “State Government” means the Government of Rajasthan; and
18. “Upper Primary School” means a school imparting education between classes I to VIII.